Pop Cart Recommends…

Here Lies Love’ is a 22-track concept album from David Byrne and Fatboy Slim. It features a whole host of top female performers including:

Tori Amos, Theresa Andersson, Nicole Atkins, Camille, Charmaine Clamor, Sia, Cyndi Lauper, Nellie McKay, Allison Moorer, Sharon Jones, Natalie Merchant, Róisín Murphy, Candie Payne, Kate Pierson (of The B-52s), Alice Russell, St. Vincent, Santigold, Martha Wainwright, Florence Welch and Shara Worden. Steve Earl also appears and is the token man on this project.

Somewhat bizarrely, the muse for the concept album is Immelda Marcos (and Estrella Cumpas, who raised her). It charts their life of extreme extravagance whilst the people of the Philippines suffered greatly under the oppressive regime of her husband, until their fall and exile in 1986, but as David Byrne descibes it is not simply dwelling on the specific actions but in general “…asking what drives a powerful person – what makes them tick? How do they make and then remake themselves?”

Regardless of the subject matter, the pair have made a uniquely beautiful album, elegantly crafted so that each female performer adds to the story in their own way… the biggest draw for the project is having such an impressive list of singers on board BUT the material matches the talent throughout. The Tori Amos and Cyndi Lauper duet of ‘Why Don’t You Love Me’ is sublime. You can find out more about the project by clicking here to visit the David Byrne website. There, you will also be able to download a FREE track called ‘Please Don’t’ which features the vocals of Santigold.