Frances Ruffelle Round-Up!

Happy Happy Birthday to the divine Ms. Frances Ruffelle… have a very wonderful day x

On Monday, Frances completes her month long run at the Edinburgh Festival performing the hugely successful, critically acclaimed show ‘Beneath The Dress’. Frances will be doing a special one-off homecoming performance in London on Sunday 12th September at the Garrick Theatre, ticket have gone on sale and can be bought from the venue box-office by clicking here.

On Monday 13th September, Frances will release her long-awaited and highly anticipated fourth album ‘Imperfectly Me’, which is gloriously sublime and completely delicious.

The album features eleven stunningly beautiful, superbly crafted and spine-tinglingly delivered tracks including: 1. Lucky Day, 2. It’s All Right With Me, 3. Love Me For What I Am, 4. Hit Me With A Hot Note, 5. Alabama Song, 6. What Now My Love? – Et Maitenant, 7. Mr Monotony, 8. Do It Again, 9. Slap That Bass, 10. Before I Open My Mouth, 11. Mood Indigo.

The artwork below was created by Simply Marvellous Creative, who were responsible for the recent artwork for ‘The Frances Ruffelle EP’.

One of the great things about a Frances Ruffelle album is how each record over the years has embraced a different style or genre, Frances avoids the obvious or expected and this results in material which is exciting and fresh – ‘Imperfectly Me’ pushes this notion even further, rather than choosing obvious jazz standards, Frances has chosen material that resonates with her own life and through re-interpreting these classics and adding her unique blend of charm, style and delivery, she brings them convincingly to a new audience. What is particularly lovely is the short explanation and reasons behind the choosing and recording of the songs included in the album booklet liner notes.

The album opener ‘Lucky Day’ is bold, Frances soars against the live instrumentation of the band and the Andy Strange/Jimmy Napes production, the break-down is infectious and delightful. Cole Porter’s ‘It’s All Right With Me’ is both seductive and playful – Frances emotes the pain and regret of the lyric bewitchingly. The interpretation of Duke Ellington’s ‘Hit Me With A Hot Note’ is terrific, the instrumental break shows off the band in full force – it’s a stompingly good five minutes of Frances with a big band – delightful! ‘What Now My Love – Et Maitenant’ features Frances singing in French for much of the track, she sounds so good too… the way in which the song builds to it’s dramatic and full bodied climax is exquisite! ‘Mr Monotony’ shows off Frances’ voice from quietly calm to full throttle and back again – the song is pure bliss! ‘Do It Again’ is a grand smoky number, Frances manages to evoke an image of a jazz singer in a club during the 1940’s, the melancholy lyrics suit the tones and textures within Frances’ voice perfectly. ‘Before I Open My Mouth’ is a duet with the very incredible Eliza Doolittle – mother and daughter sound AMAZING on record together, it’s a joyous number full of heart which Frances calls a “Judy-and-Liza moment” in the liner notes! Closing track ‘Indigo Mood’ is a slow burning number with a fantastic extended trumpet solo.

‘Imperfectly Me’ is a very fine album indeed… it’s lovingly created, cleverly conceived and wonderfully produced – the live feel to the recording creates a rich texture and frames Frances’ sensational vocals beautifully. Each spin reveals something new and exciting and the journey from beginning to end is a complete thrill. Bravo Ms. Frankie Ruff!

You can pre-order ‘Imperfectly Me’ from iTunes by clicking here and will be available from 13th September.