Ten Songs That You Need To Hear…

*In 2010, Lauren Pritchard released her debut collection titled ‘Wasted In Jackson’, which remains a gorgeously soulful record full of sweeping laid back grooves underpinned with an extraordinary clear soaring, bluesy vocal. Since then, Lauren has been recording new material which she has begun to release under the moniker Lolo. The first release under this guise was titled ‘Weapon For Saturday‘ which captured a brooding, darkly intense vibe. A collaboration with Panic At The Disco on the track ‘Miss Jackson‘ further expanded her range and style. It is the latest release ‘Heard It From A Friend’ that we recommend – the dramatic production and the lyric that speaks of torment plus it has an enormous, emotive vocal which is drenched in distain, pain and angst.

*Similarly, in 2011 Clare Maguire released her magnificent debut album ‘Light After Dark‘, which produced three highly brilliant singles including the enormously amazing Breakage remix of ‘Ain’t Nobody‘ – the project did alright commercially but realistically failed to match label expectations (yawn). Since then Clare has worked on new music and has offered glimpses as to the direction with demos uploaded to her SoundCloud page. This latest track ‘Little White Lies’ offers a rootsy funk groove with frivolous lust and a vocal that coos and slinks elegantly.

*With the release of his debut album When The Night rapidly approaching, St. Lucia has unveiled another track from the record with ‘Too Close’. The single is yet another effortlessly gorgeous expression, with building euphoria resulting in the catchy sing-a-long chorus. The wild 80’s inspired beats and zooming production tricks are married with the sound of mysterious, driven synths and extended instrumental breaks and is entirely enveloping, emotional and wonderfully uplifting.

Incidentally, a free EP featuring ‘Elevate‘ alongside some rare tracks and remixes is available exclusively through NoiseTrade here

*Naya Rivera is most well known for portraying Santana Lopez on the hit TV show Glee. Since signing a major label deal in 2011 with Sony, Naya has been preparing her debut release and her first single ‘Sorry’ is a solid, chunky early nineties RnB-lite sounding throwback with an appearance from Big Sean – it’s insanely catchy and resistance to repeated listens is entirely futile.

*Katy B follows the splendid ‘What Love Is Made Of‘ with ‘5 AM’, which serves as the second single from her soon to be released second album. The single offers more in the way of that smart, probing dance sound punctuated with that uplifting vocal and lyrics which will keep you on your toes… “I need some loving like valium… I need somebody to knock me out”.

*Lorde continues to impress with her simple sophistication. A new track titled ‘Team’ from her forthcoming debut album ‘Pure Heroine‘ has arrived. The track offers an almost blank palette as it begins with what can now thought of as her signature staple sound, the drum machine and then extends outwards with the uses of fuzzy synths, sprinkled with percussion elements.

*To celebrate a decade together as a band, The Killers will release their first retrospective collection titled ‘Direct Hits’ on 11th November and will feature two new songs, ‘Just Another Girl’ which was produced by Stuart Price and the lead track and forthcoming single ‘Shot At The Night’, produced by M83’s Anthony Gonzalez. The song is a slow burning gem that fuses disconnected beats with their trademark electronic eighties rock throwback styling. It’s as enchanting and addictive as any of their hits to date.

*In demand, producer of the moment Dev Hynes (Solange, Mutya Keisha Siobhan, Sky Ferreira) has unveiled a new track under his performance guise, Blood Orange, with ‘Chamakay’ acting as the first offering from his upcoming second album ‘Cupid Deluxe’. The single features the delicious vocal of Chairlift’s Caroline Polachek which is blended and intertwined with his own tenderly soft vocal. The exotic, dreamy, summery hazed bassline which is closed out with saxophone riffs offers an insatiable allure on what is a stellar performance. Incidentally, the video was directed by Adam Bainbridge who records as Kindness.

*The Internet are a duo consisting of Syd Tha Kid and Matt Martians who are signed to Odd Future Records, a label founded by Tyler, The Creator. In 2011, they released their striking debut ‘Purple Naked Ladies’ which blended hip hop style, soulful melodies with progressive trip hop elements and featured appearances from fellow Odd Futures members Left Brain and Mike G as well as Tay Walker. The collective are readying the release of their second album ‘Feel Good’ which is due 23rd September with the lead track ‘Dontcha’ which has a smooth, laid back funk groove driven with sparkling rhodes keys and a heavy bass rhythm guitar which combines to create a timeless, soulful edge. Exquisite.

*Donkeyboy have two completely brilliant albums under their belts, with their last ‘Silver Moon’ enabling them to stretch further away in their own league of excellence and now the Norwegian quartet return with a brand new single titled ‘Triggerfinger’ which features Kiesza. The track offers thudding, downcast drama, with clunky electro RnB beats which shimmers against the sparse synths and yearning vocal, with lyrics which convey a thousand heartbreaks rather beautifully “Everything so long gone, everything that we know, everything was easy, everything hot went cold”. *looks to the ground, swallows hard*